Pulitzer Prize winners announced

The 2014 Pulitzer winners
Public Service
The Guardian and the Washington Post for their National Security Agency coverage. | The Post’s story about its prizes. | Guardian’s story.
* Finalist: Newsday

Colorado Springs Gazette's celebration

Colorado Springs Gazette celebration

Breaking News Reporting
Staff of The Boston Globe for its “exhaustive and empathetic coverage of the Boston Marathon bombing.” | Editor Brian McGrory told his newsroom: “There’s nobody in this room that wanted to cover this story.”
* Finalists: Washington Post staff; Arizona Republic staff.

Investigative Reporting
Chris Hamby of The Center for Public Integrity for his reporting on lawyers and doctors who rig a system to deny benefits to coal miners. | “Our first Pulitzer Prize,” notes CPI’s executive director.
* Finalists: Megan Twohey of Reuters; Cynthia Hubert and Phillip Reese of the Sacramento Bee.

Explanatory Reporting
Eli Saslow of The Washington Post “for his unsettling and nuanced reporting on the prevalence of food stamps in post-recession America.”
* Finalists: Dennis Overbye of The New York Times; Les Zaitz of the Oregonian.

Editorial Cartooning
Kevin Siers of The Charlotte Observer for “thought provoking cartoons drawn with a sharp wit and bold artistic style.” | “Last week,” he says, “I won a fishing contest, too.”
* Finalists: David Horsey of the Los Angeles Times; Pat Bagley of the Salt Lake Tribune./WINNERS LIST CONTINUES

Local Reporting
Will Hobson and Michael LaForgia of Tampa Bay Times for their investigation into how the city put its homeless into slums. | Editor Neil Brown praises his reporters’ work.
* Finalists: Joan Garrett McClane, Todd South, Doug Strickland and Mary Helen Miller of the Chattanooga Times Free Press; Rebecca D. O’Brien and Thomas Mashberg of The Record.

National Reporting
David Philipps of the Colorado Springs Gazette for his examination of how wounded combat veterans are mistreated. | Watch the newsroom announcement.
* Finalists: John Emshwiller and Jeremy Singer-Vine of The Wall Street Journal; Jon Hilsenrath of The Wall Street Journal.

International Reporting
Jason Szep and Andrew R.C. Marshall of Reuters “for their courageous reports on the violent persecution of the Rohingya, a Muslim minority in Myanmar.” | Reuters journalists celebrate.
* Finalists: Rukmini Callimachi of the Associated Press; Raja Abdulrahim and Patrick McDonnell of the Los Angeles Times.

Feature Writing
No award

Stephen Henderson of Detroit Free Press for his columns on the city’s financial crisis. | The paper’s story on the award.
* Finalist: Kevin Cullen of the Boston Globe; Lisa Falkenberg of the Houston Chronicle.

Inga Saffron of The Philadelphia Inquirer for her architecture criticism. | “I’m on deadline for the seder,” she tells her paper. “I have ten people coming for dinner.”
* Finalists: Mary McNamara of the Los Angeles Times; Jen Graves of The Stranger in Seattle.

Editorial Writing
The Oregonian editorial staff for explaining “the urgent but complex issue of rising pension costs.” | The editorials.
* Finalists: Dante Ramos of The Boston Globe; Andie Dominick of The Des Moines Register.

Breaking News Photography
Tyler Hicks of The New York Times for his photos of the terrorist attack at Westgate mall in Kenya.
* Finalists: John Tlumacki and David L. Ryan of the Boston Globe; Goran Tomasevic of Reuters

Feature Photography
Josh Haner of The New York Times “for his moving essay on a Boston Marathon bomb blast victim.” | The Times’ story on its photography prizes.
* Finalists: Lacy Atkins of the San Francisco Chronicle; Michael Williamson of The Washington Post.