[UPDATE] Digital First Media staffers will be taking a Plagiarism & Attribution quiz

UPDATE: Here’s the five-question quiz. (via @stevebuttry)

A Plagiarism/Attribution Quiz and webinar that’s required for Digital First Media staffers “is intended to protect our honest journalists from the embarrassment and damage we all feel when any colleague’s journalism does not meet our standards,” writes Digital First Media’s Steve Buttry. He notes that “we have had too many plagiarism cases recently in Digital First newsrooms.”

From: Steve Buttry
Date: Wed, Sep 25, 2013 at 11:05 AM
Subject: Plagiarism/Attribution quiz and webinar

Digital First Editors:

We have had too many plagiarism cases recently in Digital First newsrooms. We need to make clear that Digital First does not tolerate plagiarism, and we need to make sure all our journalists understand how to attribute properly.digital We want all our editors to ensure that all of your staff members are trained in our standards. Please be sure that each member of your staff does the following:

* Take the plagiarism/attribution quiz.
* Join one of the three webinars scheduled for October. Information for the webinars is below my signature (with system info only listed with the first one). The dates and times are Wednesday, Oct. 2 at 3 p.m. Eastern time (2 Central, 1 Mountain, noon Pacific), Thursday, Oct. 3 at 2 p.m. Eastern time (1 Central, noon Mountain, 11 a.m. Pacific) and Monday, Oct. 14, at 3 p.m. Eastern time (2 Central, 1 Mountain, noon Pacific). If someone on your staff can’t make one of the scheduled times, please let me know and we’ll schedule another one. The webinar will not take more than an hour.

If you want access to the spreadsheet that tracks who has taken the quiz and how they did, let me know and I’ll share you in. I encourage making the quiz and webinar mandatory. We have had too many instances to presume that our staffs know our standards. We need to be explicit and make sure everyone has the training. We are confident that the vast majority of DFM journalists understand what plagiarism is and share out abhorrence for any form of dishonest journalism. Please assure those journalists that this training is intended to protect our honest journalists from the embarrassment and damage we all feel when any colleague’s journalism does not meet our standards. The training goes beyond telling journalists what not to do and will also cover good attribution and linking practices.

Few things are more important than our integrity as individual journalists, as newsrooms and as a company. Please make this quiz and webinar a high priority for your newsrooms.

Steve

Steve Buttry
Digital Transformation Editor
Digital First Media

——-

Meanwhile, USA Today Nashville correspondent Brian Mansfield tweeted this:

* Brian Mansfield’s review (usatoday.com) | The now-trimmed Daily News review (see the comments) (nydailynews.com)

Comments

comments